Escape From The Matrix

On the verge of flying – or falling?

On an evening such as this
It’s hard to tell if I exist
Packed the car an’ leave this town
Who’ll notice that I’m not around?
I could hide out under there
I just made you say “Underwear”
I could leave but I’ll just stay
All my stuff’s here anyway

I love Barenaked Ladies. I love their quirkiness, their out-of-this world lyrics and the fact that they are Canadian. But what I love most about them is how much I can relate to their songs. Case-in-point; ‘Pinch Me’ which I included part of the lyrics of above. I’ve been feeling so distanced lately and the first part of lyrics defines me in a nutshell (I added the ‘underwear’ part just because it’s cool).

I also read Cranky Giraffe’s weekend post titled: Bedtime Lesson for Mommy and it was like a double wham. She helped frame what’s been going through my mind so perfectly that I cannot help but reblog about it.

You see, this weekend was the famous ‘Birthday Weekend’ for Adam. And as part of his birthday celebrations we took him to this indoor play center to let off some of his sugar steam. Both Adam and Jo had a blast and we were happy seeing them happy. So where is the problem? Well, remember how I told you I have absolutely no friends in this city and no-one to pick up the phone just to annoy or meet for a cup of overpriced coffee. Well, the same time we were at TommyK Play a birthday party was being held for an boy called Mostafa who had, wait for it, Egyptian parents. and these Egyptian parents had Egyptian couple friends. And these were the cool, funky, close-to-our-age, same-age-kids-as-we, not-overly-religious-or-crazy, kinda-of-fun-looking and totally-could-be-our-friends Egyptian couples. So perfect opportunity to start socializing right? Wrong! Obviously me and my husband, being the socially shy and conscious people we are (who in the hell did too people so alike get married?) did nothing at all.

We left the place with happy kids in tow but very grumpy mama who wanted to kick her self in the ass for not seizing the opportunity and we went back to our homes where I lost myself in my online life and friends.

My online friends are awesome and I love them. They provide a great outlet to bitch about my life, husband and kids. But occasionally I would like to have someone who I can meet face-to-face over a cup of coffee to bitch about my life, husband and kids to.

While having a total and full existence online can be pretty neat (Tron anyone?) it can also be draining – Matrix style (go on, go on you can make the geeky reference here – I’ve heard it enough times to know when it’s coming). You can get caught in in your virtual existence – your make-believe world – to the extent that you cease to exist anywhere else. As my husband so eloquently rubbed it into my face;

‘You stopped spending time with us to spend time online with your friends, but with time you’ll find out you have lost us and won’t really have them.”

Yep my husband is big on dramatic advice.

Anyway it’s been a crazy weekend, but the birthday events went smoothly and I currently have a happy but sugar-crazy 6 year old on my hand. Pictures and updates will be posted shortly I promise, just as soon as I download pictures and update them.

One thought on “Escape From The Matrix

  1. I love that you wrote this post, and I am glad to have been an inspiration for these thoughts to come out. Funny thing… just a few weeks ago my husband said something similar to what yours said: He accused me of living my own life in my iphone (texting, facebook, email etc) at the expense of living my life with him and my kids. I couldn’t deny it, and it made me very sad.

Let's agree to disagree - or not. Whatever you have to say, I'd love to hear it....

