Birthday Project 1 – Birthday Boy Plate

Welcome to the first official day of ‘Birthday Craze Week’. Since I am person with tons of free time, who does not have a toddler attached to her hip every single waking moment of her day, or an empty house that needs to become a home, or is in the throes of full depression and fighting to cling to her sanity, so I decided that I need to physically hand-make everything for my son’s upcoming 6th birthday. Oh and the fact that I’m cheap helped too.

Well not cheap per se, it’s more along the lines of broke. After traveling 10,375.35 km (yes I looked it up – sue me!) with two kids, setting up a new house from scratch and buying tons of winter clothes for four people to prepare for freezing temperatures (never really needed a sub-artic parka for the sand storms we suffered in Cairo) it’s understandable that I don’t have much money left for other things, plus I really would like to squander money on my very important niceties like manicures and expensive Starbucks coffee.

Okay, okay I know, I’m getting off topic. So I’ve been looking for money-less ways to make Adam’s birthday special. And one of things I decided upon was to get a special china set for Adam to eat his birthday meal on. After all, I can give the kid a break from the IKEA plastic plates for one day of the year. Motivated I go to my favorite place in the world, or as my husband likes to put it; my-other-lover, the internet and look for hand painted, personalized birthday plates. And this comes up:

That plate retails for $38 not including shipping! Yes you heard me right, a 38 bucks for a plate that was done in a kindergarden class. I can probably do better. I know I can do better. So I head off to Pier 1 (did I tell you how much I love Pier 1) and buy two plain white plates for $16. I know, I know, I could have gotten them from the Dollar store for much less, but it’s Pier 1! Then I’m off to Michaels to buy oil based Sharpie paint pens – I’m too lazy to use paints and a brush – and I’m all set.

 

Tools of the trade

Tools of the trade

These plates took me two hours to make. Then it was off to a 350F oven for 30 minutes to set the colors. They turned out pretty good if I do say so myself. So good, that I may start selling them online for $35.

What a pretty birthday plate – if I do say so myself

So have a look at my magnificent artwork. Tell me how awesome they are and how I am a much better painter than the original store-bought plates. If you want to really flatter me, tell me that I paint at a grade 2 level, much better than the kindergarden job done above. And if you’re feeling reckless, maybe you can order a few plates off me? I’ll even give you a special discount and sell them for only 60 bucks. And if you buy two, I’ll go even lower and give them to you at the extremely low price of $70 each.

Well, you can’t blame a girl for trying to make some extra cash to fund those Caramel Macchiatos.

PS: Can you tell I’m super proud of the plates by the amount of pictures I posted?

11 thoughts on “Birthday Project 1 – Birthday Boy Plate

  1. LOVE THESE!! I actually really enjoy painting pottery, but it’s crazy expensive so I normally have to wait till I go visit my uncle. Because he has a friend that owns a pottery shop, who just happens to like me and be a really good friend of my uncle’s…so I get a discount. So then I paint for an hour or two and have to wait for my uncle to ship me my pieces which takes like a month (if I’m lucky)…see that’s all just too complicated!! I never thought to use these markers! Brilliant! And yes, you’re drawing skills are fabulous darling, just fabulous! And you should so make an etsy shop and sell these puppies! Oh and by the way, I sell my cakes to fund my caramel frappacino addiction ❤

    • Jessie,
      Painting pottery is the best! I used to go to those potter shops too and pay so much to paint a mug or a plate or a massive snowman lantern (yes I did that – don’t judge me). I was all set to buy these plates off Rosenberry Rooms when I saw a post on Pinterest that used a similar technique but with regular black Sharpies.
      Anyway long story short, I decided I am semi-talented enough to do it myself (playing ‘We are the champions’ in the background helped psych me up too) and there it is.
      I saw your blog and you are super talented too. We should totally set up shop together, preferable somewhere near a Starbucks location. All our money is gonna end up there anyway 🙂

      • “We are the champions” is a fantastic choice to pump you up before you tackle any crafty task. I also enjoy “Eye of the tiger” as a motivator.
        Aw thank you so much! I’m really not talented, I just try to dabble in as many messy habits as possible. Anything that I will be cleaning up for the next month or so…sometimes they turn into pretty messes! (purely accidental of course). Starbucks sounds good to me!! 🙂

  2. Those are fantastic! Your son will probably love them more than anything else and he’ll eat off of them for every meal of everyday until they (a) break, or (b) “go missing.” Just in case you didn’t have enough to do already, you will now be washing those dishes 3 times a day! In all seriousness, though, they are amazing and you can bet I’ll be going to Michael’s looking for those markers!

    • Thank you for the compliment, you are so right about the multiple washing. At this point it’s not only my son who is worrying me. My husband has eyes set on them too. He saw them yesterday while he was making an evening snack, looked at them, looked at me and said:
      “Would you mind if I used this plate to eat my sandwich?”
      Ironically he was standing right next to the open cupboard where we store the rest of our (regular) plates.
      If you do get those Sharpie markers make sure that you get the oil-based and not the water-based markers. As the water-based ones are not permanent.

Let's agree to disagree - or not. Whatever you have to say, I'd love to hear it....

