Apple Pie Muffins

So yesterday was a suprisingly productive day. I finished cleaning the main floor (I miss my maid in Egypt – God bless her wherever she is), went grocery shopping (ughhh), bought a new pair of boots (yay) and baked. Yes you heard correctly, I baked! I haven’t done that in months so it was a little awkward and slow at the beginning. But once I was almost done, and the house smelling all cinnamony and fresh I was thinking ‘Why did I ever stop?’

I also realized that I’m an evening baker. Definitely not a morning baker. I don’t think I’m a morning anything. So, the good news about being an evening baker is that I wake up to a delicious treat for breakfast; these beautiful Apple Pie muffins.

Image

The reason I did Apple Pie Muffins was because the last time I went to CostCo I bought a huge bag of Granny Smith Apples that have been just lying there. And ironically baking up this recipe only used 3 apples. Which means I still have a ton of apples just lying there.

Image

These were adapted from a recipe I found on all http://www.allrecipes.com by Jan Brown. And while they turned out pretty good, I think they could be a little more moist. I’ll probably try adding applesauce next time to the batter.

So here is the recipe I did last night in case you’re interested in it:

Image

Apple Pie Muffins – Adapted from Jan Brown’s recipe on Allrecipes

Batter:

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 2 cups diced apples

Topping:

  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Line a 12 cup muffin tin with paper muffin cups.
  2. In a large bowl, stir together 2 1/4 cups flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. In a separate smaller bowl, mix together the egg, buttermilk, 1/2 cup melted butter, vanilla and 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar until sugar has dissolved. Pour into the flour mixture and sprinkle the diced apple into the bowl as well. Stir just until everything is blended. Spoon into the prepared muffin tin, filling the cups to the top.
  3. In a small bowl, stir together 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/3 cup flour and cinnamon. Drizzle in 2 tablespoons of melted butter while tossing with a fork until well blended. Sprinkle this over the tops of the muffins.
  4. Bake for 25 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the tops of the muffins spring back when lightly pressed.

20121010-113219.jpg

2 thoughts on “Apple Pie Muffins

    • It’s the perfect recipe for fall. You get yummy muffins and a houseful of a cinnamon and apple smell. Now that’s what I call multi-tasking 🙂

Let's agree to disagree - or not. Whatever you have to say, I'd love to hear it....

