Nothing Else Matters

20121204-124719.jpg

On the outside the world is crashing past me. But I’m not there. I don’t know if I ever was. I’ve distanced myself and become disenchanted and dissociated from life.

This is my sanctuary; the deep dark box hidden inside my soul. The hole where I throw my worries and thoughts and drown them with indifference. Welcome to my world.

Where alienation and detachment rule with a heavy hand and caring too much may mean a an instant descent into madness and pain.

My oasis is constantly shrouded in night, shadows fighting to be set free. It’s deep and encompassing, with it’s swirls of shadowy carelessness reaching into the bitter corners of my soul and killing the last kernels of involvement.

This sanctuary may be filled with trapped demons and dark secrets but it’s mine my place. Where I go to recover and lick my wounds. And from where I emerge stronger, better and ready to take on the world even if I’m not really a part of that world.

Written in response to the Daily Prompt: Oasis.

 

5 thoughts on “Nothing Else Matters

  1. Pingback: Haiku: The Oasis Within… | Mirth and Motivation

  2. Pingback: The Official Acceptance: Part 1 | The Cranky Giraffe

  3. Pingback: Haiku: The Oasis Within… | The Blog Farm

Let's agree to disagree - or not. Whatever you have to say, I'd love to hear it....

